Chapter 1 - Welcome
Chapter 2 - Rules and Regulations
Chapter 3 - Forklift Classes and Certifications
Chapter 4 - Forklifts & Automobiles
Chapter 5 - Forklift Stability
Chapter 6 - Safety and Mishaps
Chapter 7 - Pre-Shift Inspection
Chapter 8 - Standard Forklifts
Chapter 9 - Narrow Aisle Forklifts
Chapter 10 - Powered Pallet Jack
Chapter 11 - Final Considerations
12. Final Exam

Classes 1, 4 & 5 – Standard Sit-Down Forklifts

The standard forklifts or sit-down forklifts are the most common type of forklift. When you successfully complete both the theory and practical portions for any one of these three classes (1, 4 & 5), you’ll be certified to operate all three.

These forklifts share some similarities. They are powered by an engine and feature a counterbalance, which uses a counterweight to offset the load they carry, preventing them from tipping forward. They are also sit-down models, meaning the operator is seated in a cab that doesn’t move up or down. Lastly, they have a high-lift, vertical mast mounted on the machine capable of raising the work attachment over 180 cm (72 inches) from the ground.

Standard forklifts are categorized into two types: Electric-powered and Engine-powered.

Class 1 Electric Forklifts
Internal Combustion Engine Trucks